Book Titles and Progress Bars

May 22, 2008

We’re quickly getting into summer mode here in our household. The university had its graduation nearly two weeks ago, so Nancy is already into her summer research program. My older daughter (the newly minted teenager) is now done with her school and is officially an eighth grader (Yikes!), and my younger daughter finishes up next week.

All this means, of course, that the kids are going to be around more, which tends to make writing that much more difficult. I’ve finished the copy edits on THE HORSEMEN’S GAMBIT and am now back at work on the STILL untitled third book of Blood of the Southlands. I might need to have a web contest: “Name the third volume!” The winner gets his or her idea splashed across the jacket of my new book…. The first book was THE SORCERERS’ PLAGUE, then THE HORSEMEN’S GAMBIT. Right now I’m leaning toward THE AUTHOR’S NEMESIS, but I’m not sure my editor will go for that….

I’ve made good progress over the last few weeks, so I thought I’d post my second progress bar. Last time I was at 14% — 19,700 words or so. That was April 22, exactly a month ago.

I’ve made pretty good progress since then, especially if you consider that I’ve also had to travel to a con, copyedit a manuscript, and take down a photo exhibit. If I can continue to average 26,000 words a month, I’ll be done by the end of September. I can live with that; the book’s due November 1.

3 Responses to “Book Titles and Progress Bars”

  1. Alex Pendergrass said

    We’d have to know what happens in Book 2 to name a title. So, I think it’s best you email a .pdf of it out now to everyone. Yea, that’d be the right thing to do . . .

  2. Alex beat me to the point. Besides, I already suggested The Bee’s Knees, or The Cat’s Pajamas!

  3. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the suggestion, Alex…I think.

    Yeah, looks like I’m on my own with this. Actually, THE AUTHOR’S NEMESIS is growing on me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,826 other followers

