Immersing Myself in my New Project

November 20, 2008

Finally seem to be gathering some momentum with the new project.  Twenty pages so far this week; not blazing speed by any stretch, but a good pace for this stage.  More important, I’m starting to get a feel for the character, for the world, and for the voice I’m using to write the thing.  That last may be the most important for me, and the hardest.  The last thing I want is for this new set of books to sound and feel just like the last series and the one before that.  In part haveing a different setting, a different magic system, and a different cast of characters will take care of that.  But there’s more to it.

The prose I write for a new series has to match the themes of the books.  For the Forelands books I wrote a lot of castle intrigue and warfare, and my writing reflected that.  The metaphors and analogies, the way characters spoke to each other and described their world — all of it was built around the worldbuilding and plotline.  This new series is different — for one thing, the world is mostly ocean, and there are lots of isles, so there’s a water theme to my prose this time around.  That’s how the characters would think, and so those are the terms I use to describe action and emotion. 

Just one example, of course.  The point is, it’s starting to come together.  I feel myself sinking into the world, acclimating myself to this new creative environment.  Fun stuff.  On days like these I love my job.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,826 other followers

