Calling All Podcast Nerds

May 11, 2012

So, I have a short story that I’ve written under the D.B. Jackson pseudonym, and I intend to make it available soon on the D.B. Jackson website as a .pdf (as I have other stories, as well as sample chapters from the books).  But I am also interested in possibly creating a podcast of me doing a reading of the story. I have a microphone that I use for music, and I know that I can record myself in Garage Band.  But I don’t know what to do after that.  Do I have to put it up on iTunes as a podcast?  Can I simply make the file available as a download on the website, just as I would the .pdf?  Any feedback/advice would be most appreciated.

4 Responses to “Calling All Podcast Nerds”

  1. irtanu said

    You can do either. You’ll probably get more attention going the iTunes route but it may take a bit longer for Apple’s authentication lag before it appears in the iTunes store. Still, I’d go that route eventually.

    Go to the Podcast page of iTunes and click the submit a podcast link to the top right. You’ll need an RSS feed link for the podcast, so I suggest recording it first and uploading it to the website first, though you don’t have to make it public right away if you’d like it to go up simultaneously. To reiterate, they don’t host the file itself, just offer a streamlined service for users to download and discover more. You may see a higher bill for bandwidth and data usage, the only expense really that comes from popular podcasts, if you personally fund your websites. Once the feed link is submitted, iTunes staff will review your podcast before it goes live. After it has been accepted and uploaded for download, it takes about a day for the servers to index the podcast so that it can be found by an iTunes search. Otherwise, the only way to access it would be by a direct link. But once it has been indexed, it’s good to go.

    http://www.apple.com/itunes/podcasts/creatorfaq.html

  2. irtanu said

    Well I typed up a detailed explanation and advice but then had to log-in. So…

    http://www.apple.com/itunes/podcasts/creatorfaq.html

    And I’d say do both but wait until iTunes has reviewed and indexed your podcast before heralding the link on your website(s).

  3. davidbcoe said

    Enormously helpful stuff, Irtanu. Thank you so much!

  4. irtanu said

    Oh joy, the first comment did go through! And you’re quite welcome. Looking forward to hearing it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,839 other followers

