Not Much Going On

December 1, 2007

Lazy Saturday.  Dealt with some email, watched “SpongeBob Squarepants” with my girls earlier this morning (’nuff said), replied to an angry comment re. my political rant of the other day. 

And now I’m ready to enjoy a quiet day.

Wishing you all a happy weekend.

Today’s “music” — Car Talk,  on NPR

6 Responses to “Not Much Going On”

  1. I’m just learning about your genre, as you know, and didn’t imagine there was a rift between (some) science fiction fans and fantasy aficionados. In fact, I assumed, perhaps incorrectly, that “speculative fiction” was a term coined to encompass both. I intend to do more reading on the subject, but maybe you can provide some insight.

  2. davidbcoe said

    Hmmmm. Not sure that I can. I’m not sure I agree that there’s a rift between SF and Fantasy fans. Some people like one and some like the other and others read both. But a rift? I use the term “Speculative Fiction” to encompass both, but I know that the term has fallen out of favor with some in the States — it’s still used in Australia. What is it you’re hearing in this regard, and what’s your source?

  3. I was shocked by a comment related to a recent article in the Times,Why are science fiction’s best writers so neglected?” It was followed by “Why don’t we love science fiction?” The latter must have been posted a minute ago, as it has tomorrow’s date on it.

    People do tend to draw lines and claim superiority. I probably envisioned something a little more harmonious than human nature permits, and I’m glad to hear divisiveness hasn’t been your experience.

  4. davidbcoe said

    Yeah, all right, I see where you’re coming from now. Certainly my experience has been that here in the States writers and readers of what is sometimes called “literary fiction” and at other times “mainstream fiction”, look down their noses at both SF and Fantasy. The rift between SF and Fantasy is not nearly as great as Brian Aldiss and the other British writers mentioned in the article you cite seem to imply. Then again, I think that Aldiss shows a shocking ignorance about fantasy when he speaks of the lack of consequences for Fantasy worlds in Fantasy fiction. To say that at the end of Lord of the Rings everything goes back to the way things were before the story began, is, I think, a gross misreading of Tolkien. And I believe that today’s fantasy writers, myself included, are even more conscious of having the events in their books ramify through their worlds far beyond the ends of their stories. So, yeah, if SF writers are going to misrepresent what fantasy is about, they’re going to find themselves in a feud of sorts with fantasy writers. But again, I see less of this here than Aldiss seems to in Britain.

  5. Bryan Appleyard also seems to say that science fiction is more pessimistic and fantasy more optimistic, which might be the case, even if it’s an unnecessary distinction.

    Thanks for responding. I’m glad to know it’s not much of an issue here.

Leave a Reply

