New Book!

December 5, 2007

David B. Coe, The Sorcerers' Plague (book I of Blood of the Southlands, jacket art by Romas Kukalis)It’s not out quite yet — the official release date is December 10 — but I received my author copies yesterday, and I’m totally jazzed.  It looks great.  The maps, the jacket art, the interior production; I’m pleased with all of it.  We’ve gotten some great blurbs for it (Thanks, Sherwood  Smith!  Thanks, Kate Elliott!) and some very nice reviews (PW, Booklist, Romantic Times).  All in all, I couldn’t be happier (unless of course it were to debut on the NYT Bestsellers List, but I’m not expecting that….)

In many ways, this is the most gratifying release I’ve ever had, and I think that’s because it was such a difficult book to write.  I struggled with the thing throughout, and for a long time wondered if there really was a book there, much less a trilogy.  But as I was writing it, I had an epiphany related to the plotting, and by the time I finished I had begun to think differently about the entire project.  I put it away for a while and then read it through again.  And I loved it.  My editor helped me clean up a few parts that needed work; I made a few changes on my own.  By the time we were done with the rewrites, I was convinced that it was my best book to date.

Part of what I like about it is that it’s unlike any of my previous work.  The hero is an old man; the villain is a woman who has been twisted and embittered by a wrong done her more than sixty years before.  The story deals with issues of prejudice and cultural identity, of the ways in which ancient hatreds continue to inform everyday relationships. 

I could go on, but I won’t, except to say I feel very fortunate that I get to do this for a living.  I don’t care how many books I write; I’ll never get sick of seeing a new one in print for the first time.

Today’s music:  Willis Alan Ramsey

5 Responses to “New Book!”

  1. Kaya Alder said

    David,

    As a long time fan of your work, I’m thrilled to know this was will be on the shelves soon. Best book to date? Even more thrilled! Best of luck with the release.

    Blessings,
    Kaya

  2. davidbcoe said

    Thank you so much, Kaya! I hope that you’ll enjoy it. Thanks for the comment and for stopping by my blog!

  3. flash said

    Cool, something to read over the holiday break while I’m at the folks house…

  4. davidbcoe said

    Thanks very much to both Alex and Flash for stopping by and commenting. I hope both of you enjoy the book!

Leave a Reply

