Number Games

December 10, 2007

So, THE SORCERERS’ PLAGUE is now officially “out”.  It should be in bookstores by now, and it can be ordered from online sellers, including, of course, Amazon.com.  

I have a confession to make:  I am an Amazon numbers junkie.  Whenever I have a new book out I return to the product page again and again to check my sales numbers and look for new reviews.  I know, I know.  The numbers mean next to nothing, and the reader reviews don’t count for much more.  But I can’t help myself.  It’s rather pathetic really.  I know this.  Yet I still do it.  And I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only writer who does. 

A little information can be a dangerous thing, and yet we writers get so little immediate feedback regarding how our books are doing that any information is welcome.  Then again, given how obsessive I can be about the Amazon numbers, I’m probably lucky that I don’t have access to more information.  I’d never get anything done….

Today’s music:  James Taylor (One Man Band)

5 Responses to “Number Games”

  1. I hate to be the bearer of bad news . . .

    Something is wrong with the distribution of the book. There are literally no stores in southeastern Michigan that have received their copies yet. I went to Borders in Ann Arbor (possibly the second biggest city in Michigan, in terms of recognition in the country). They aren’t getting it for at least another few days. They were supposed to have it days ago. (Also, the man who helped said they had some in during late November, but I think he was mistaken, he seemed a bit out of it when I first asked for his help.)

    In Barnes & Noble in Ann Arbor, they won’t get it for a few days either. And, the man assisting me there checked their database, no stores in southeast Michigan have it yet. Not even in Detroit itself.

    I also went to a Borders Express in the largest mall in Ann Arbor (the bookstore is admittedly quite small compared to actual Borders), and unfortunately they don’t carry any of your books. 😦

    So, I feel like a generic fantasy hero on a quest for a world-altering artifact that is eluding me. This really sucks, as I am a big fan of your work, and I’ve been looking forward to this book since I first heard about it (hell, since I first heard mention of the Southlands in the Winds of the Forelands series).

    I’d love to be able to post a review/talk about the book (I’d certainly have finished it by now, since I literally do nothing else but read when I have a book I’ve been anticipating for so long), but I can’t.

    I hope that there are no other people in other areas of the country having the same problems. 😦

  2. Frank said

    I got mine two days ago (pre-ordered on amazon), and boy is it good! Not quite finished yet, but I will be by tomorrow, if not tonight. This book is paced so much faster than the last few!

    Now my only problem is that I will be finished with it soon and have to wait for the next one. Will there be any signings/readings in the future?

    P.S. As a blogger with readership numbers lower than my age, I am a numbers junkie, too.I know the addictive thrill of feedback. I will be sure to go throw a review up on Amazon soon.

  3. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the comment, Alex. I think that Amazon gets books in at the same time distributors do. It takes a few days longer for the distributors to get those books to brick and mortar bookstores. I’m not sure there’s need for concern quite yet.

  4. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for posting a comment, Frank. And thanks for the kind words about the book. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

    I have appearances planned beginning in late January, I believe, and will be scheduling more as the year progresses. I hope to do readings and signings in a number of places. Check my website periodically. http://www.davidbcoe.com

  5. Yea, you were right. It’s just the last few books I’ve purchased have been high profile releases (midnight Harry Potter lines, how I won’t miss thee), and books have always been on the shelves. It’d also help to have a little better help.

    The person who helped me at Borders must’ve misread the information on the book, because the downtown Ann Arbor Borders has, in fact, had copies since the release. After spending way too much time finding parking, running through the cold and crowded campus of the Wolverines, taking too much time chatting with the clerk about your books (your on his list of authors to read), and sprinting back to my car to barely beat the meter, I’ve a copy of my own. Just finishing up a book I’ve been working on for some time now (book 2 of the Obsidian Trilogy; feels a bit too cliche and stereotypical for me to truly get in to), and then it’s time to visit the Southlands.

    P.S. The cover looks even better in person.

Leave a Reply

