New Year Wishes

January 1, 2008

Was on the road with my family for 10 days, and though I left with every intention of posting along the way, it was nice to get away from writing for a little while.  Saw many friends and spent time with family (mine and Nancy’s).  Lots of driving, but we had Harry Potter books 2 and 4 on cd with us and that kept all of us, including the girls, happy and entertained for 2,400 miles.

Now we’re back, and aside from sitting beside a fire, watching a little football, and taking care of a few small chores around the house, we have nothing planned for today.

I have resolutions for the New Year, of course.  Some are obvious — write more, blog as often as possible, be more efficient with my work time, continue to exercise, etc.  Others I’m less willing to share.  I know the things I need to do to make myself a better person, a better Dad, a better friend.  And I’ll try to do them.

My wishes for 2008 (aside from happiness and good health for my family and friends, and an end to the war):

1) A pennant for the Mets.  Yeah, I know.  But I can dream, can’t I?

2) A bestseller.  Not really; I know better.  But I would enjoy a year of good reviews, improved sales, and big fat book contracts.

3) A Presidential Campaign that addresses real issues, rises above the politics of “swift-boating” and  wedge issues, mud-slinging and personal attacks, sound bites and pandering.  If we’re going to stretch out the political season, let’s at least have a debate that edifies, that makes people think about the issues and about the real sacrifices we will all have to make in order to solve the problems facing this country.

Happy New Year to all of you.  May 2008 bring you joy, love, prosperity, and good health.

3 Responses to “New Year Wishes”

  1. The Exurbanista said

    You wanna know something really funny? I saw your posting on the wordpress home page, and thought, he looks familiar. And voila! It’s you! I was just getting ready to post my resolutions!

    ~another of helcat’s many internet guises

  2. davidbcoe said

    Hey, Helen!!! [waves] Cool to know you’re on here, too. Happy New Year!

  3. disney-fraud themes said

    1) the drunk fans will sober up and realize that MLB = WWE, fake, doped, and rigged for TVC ratings.

    2) that Roger Clemens is a Charles Van Doren, a poser on drugs as are ALL MLD actors

    3) that illegal gambling, corked bats, shorter mounds, narrow perimeters, meaingless statistics and inflated TV promotion of aging stars—when a aged 22 Dominican is a superior talent will finally be understood.

    4) that drunk driving and death will decline in MLB (Tony LaRussa, Josh Hancock, Orlando Cepeda,
    Esteban Loaiza, Steve Howe, Doc Gooden, darly Strawberry, Daren Daulton, et al…)

    5) that more corked bats with break on TV.

    6) that more on-field Roid Rage will be properly booooed.

    7) That Disney-ESPN will go into bankruptcy.

    8) That Hulk Hogan will be voted in the MLB hall of Fame, not Pete Rose, Tony Gywnn or Cal Ripken.

    MLB = WWE, a rigged and doped Quiz Show 21.

Leave a Reply

