Signing Today

February 8, 2008

I’ll be signing books today at my local bookstore.  It’s my favorite place to sign, mostly because I know people will show up.  It’s a small town, and it’s filled with friends, many of whom read my books.  (How small is the town?  We have one newspaper, which comes out once a week.  And the story announcing my signing was on the front page.  Above the fold…) The signing becomes more like a social hour, people coming and going, but always hanging around long enough to chat for a while.  (Unlike mall booksignings, where people hurry by the table, actually avoiding eye contact — those are the pits.)  The manager of the bookstore is terrific, and she usually arranges to have cookies and hot cider or coffee out next to the signing table. 

So if any of you are in the area, stop by and say hello.

Today’s music:  Mark Knopfler and Emmylou Harris (All the Roadrunning)

8 Responses to “Signing Today”

  1. Brian said

    I would stop by if I was in the area. I would like to get copies of the second and third books of the Lon Tobyn chronicles. One reason I dont have them yet is that I like to go to bookstored and pick them off the shelves and look at them before I buy them. The local bookstore here in Manhattan KS is not a major nationwide chain and I would have to order them. For some reason I hesitate to place orders like this, maybe because I feel obligated to buy them when they come in. I dont know. Good luck on your signing, it sounds like a nice time.

  2. Frank said

    I’m logging off and heading over right now! I’ll be there in a few minutes!

  3. Frank said

    Whoops, I missed you! Looks like I was too late!

    Oh well, I already have mine signed anyway, and as much as I like your work, I probably wouldn’t have bought a second hardcover of your latest. That kind of support for the literary arts just ain’t in the budget, y’know?

    Anyway, I hope it went well for you! If so, feel free to celebrate with pizza!

  4. davidbcoe said

    Actually, Brian, the second and third books of the LonTobyn series are currently out of print, which makes them especially hard to find. You’d have to find them used.

    Thanks for the messages, Frank. Sorry you missed it, though, as you say, I already signed your copy. You never can have enough, though….

    It did go well. The bookstore sold out of the new book, and we sold some of the older ones, too.

  5. The second one is too eh? I guess I got lucky when I found it on chapters.ca

    I’m half way through Eagle Sage now. *giggle* twists and turns, I love it.

  6. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the comment, Michele. Glad you’re enjoying Eagle-Sage. I’m hoping to get Tor to do something about the availability of the books. Children of Amarid is still in print — the rest of the series should be, too.

  7. Brian said

    Question- If I buy a used book from Amazon, is it like cheating you out of royalties or something? Or do you not care? Can I buy books from your website directly?

  8. davidbcoe said

    I don’t get royalties from the sale of a used book. But once upon a time that books was bought new by someone, so I already got my royalty on it. As for the rest, please go to my web site and email me from there. I do have copies of my books that I can sell (and sign) — including The Outlanders and Eagle-Sage. I only have them in hardcover though, and that might be pricier than you want. Email me.

Leave a Reply

