“You Keep Using That Word…”

February 10, 2008

Since John McCain won all those races on  Super Tuesday, making him, according to everyone in the media and the GOP establishment, the “presumptive” Republican nominee, we have seen the following:

— McCain was booed by conservatives at the CPAC convention because, apparently, calling for a one hundred year commitment of troops in Iraq, reversing himself to support George Bush’s regressive tax cuts, and praising Bush’s doctrinaire Supreme Court nominees, Samuel Alito and John Roberts, isn’t enough to qualifiy him as a True Conservative.

— Attendees of this same CPAC convention voted in a straw poll for Mitt Romney over McCain, despite the fact that Romney dropped out of the race before three quarters of those attendees had a chance to vote.

— Mike Huckabee beat McCain in the Kansas caucus by a margin of 60% to 24%.  He also beat McCain in the Louisiana primary (though he failed to get enough votes to win the state’s delegates).

— McCain managed to win the caucuses in Washington, but did so with less than 30% of caucus-goers’ votes, this in a state that would seem to be ideal for McCain and his supposed appeal to moderates and liberals.

And yet, there were the talking heads last night, still calling McCain the “presumptive” Republican nominee.  To paraphrase the great Inigo Montoya, they keep using that word.  I do not think it means what they think it means.

Today’s “music”:  “Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me” on NPR

7 Responses to ““You Keep Using That Word…””

  1. Frank said

    Yes, but a Huckabee win is Inconthievable!

  2. davidbcoe said

    This made me laugh out loud. Thanks for the comment, Frank.

  3. Mark Wise said

    I think I would perfer to see Hillary or Obama get in the Whitehouse than McCain (and I am Republican). McCain has a terrible record as a conservative and has recently co-sponsered bills in Congress with Feingold, Leiberman, and Kennedy. He is now feeling the heat because now the true conservatives have someone to unite behind in Huckabee (even though he is not fully conservative with his non-stance on illegal immigration but he is better than McCain).

    If Huckabee doesn’t win the republican nomination, then I will have to look to 3rd party canidates.

  4. *giggle* Inigo quotes…I love it… I just watched that movie Saturday night, then the boyfriend and I got to wondering which theory about who the *real* author is, is correct.

  5. davidbcoe said

    Thanks to both Mark and Michele for their comments. Mark, I have to say that I find your comment surprising. I mean, I’ve heard other conservatives say the same thing, but could you really bring yourself to vote for Hillary Clinton? (I could very easily, of course, but I’m a lifelong Democrat and I have always liked both her and her husband.) Isn’t the very idea of it apostasy for a Republican?

  6. Mark Wise said

    Hillary? No way. I would look for a 3rd party. There is always some unknown running on the ballot, Green Party, Constitution Party, etc… But voting for Hillary or Obama directly would cause some kinda of anti-matter reaction inside me I think.

  7. davidbcoe said

    [Laughing] Actually, Mark, I’m reassured hearing you say that. It really did feel like the universe was out of kilter just for a moment…

    I’m reminded of “GhostBusters”, just before they’re going to try taking out the evil vixen for the first time, when the Harold Ramis character says, “Don’t cross the beams; that would be bad.” Same thing here. “Don’t make Mark vote for a Democrat. The world might explode.” Right. Helpful safety tip. Thanks, Mark….

Leave a Reply

