“Bye, Bye, Birdie” At Last

February 17, 2008

Yes, my daughter was well enough to perform last night.  Her fever wasn’t entirely gone, and she was still coughing a bit, but I couldn’t see keeping her home for that (it was my call; Nancy is at a conference for the weekend).

It was a great show.  It really was.  I’ve seen other middle school productions, and I was once in a couple myself, and this one was very well done.  The acting was fine, the singing was very good, and though the script and lyrics are a bit dated at this point, most of the humor remains quite effective.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was in “Bye, Bye, Birdie” when I was in high school, and I found myself remembering things from our production all those years ago to which I hadn’t given a thought in nearly three decades.  One of my best friends in high school, someone I still speak with now and then, played the title role, and I thought about him a lot.

Mostly, though, I watched my daughter sing and dance and give the Conrad Birdie Pledge and scream at the sight of Conrad, like those high school girls you hear and see on old videos of Elvis and the Beatles.  She did a great job — everyone (including her pediatrician, who was in the audience; this is a very small town) commented on how much energy she had, and how much stage presence she has.  I couldn’t help but agree.  She looked tired to me, but that’s one of those things only a parent would notice.  What I noticed most was how happy she seemed to be, how much fun she clearly had during the performance.

My younger daughter and I are going back today for the final performance.  No, the play wasn’t quite that good.  But the smile on my older daughter’s face was spectacular.

Today’s “music”:  “Studio 360” on NPR

2 Responses to ““Bye, Bye, Birdie” At Last”

  1. Tina Parker said

    Glad to hear your daughter made it last night — and today. I logged on quickly this evening and I came here first to make sure the show went on. Good call, Dad.

  2. davidbcoe said

    Thanks, Tina. The coolest thing about this whole experience was watching my daughter come to grips not only with our decision not to let her perform Thursday night (my wife was here for that one) but also with her own recognition that we were right to keep her home. I think she learned something from all this.

Leave a Reply

