Various Updates

February 27, 2008

First, a birthday shout out to my friend Stephen Leigh!  Hope it’s a great one!

Things here remain as they have been, with a snow day for my younger daughter thrown in for good measure.  My older kid and I go back to the doctor today to see if the injection of antibiotics she got yesterday did any good.  If the doctor isn’t satisfied with her progress, the next step is admission to the local hospital.  We’d all like to avoid that, thank you very much.

On the professional front, I learned the other day that of the 5,500 hardcover copies printed of THE SORCERERS’ PLAGUE, fewer than 120 remain in Tor’s warehouses.  There will be returns, of course, but that’s a pretty good sell-through.  Maybe they’ll even go back to press with it.  Fingers crossed.

I also seem to have sold the first of the two short stories I’ve written in the last few months.  There are still a few editing details to be worked out, but barring something unforeseen, I’ve got my first sale of 2008.  The second story is out, but I’ve yet to hear anything back.

And that’s all the news that I’m fit to print…..

Today’s music:  Unidentified classical piece on NPR

3 Responses to “Various Updates”

  1. Brian said

    Congratulations!

    Your post reminded me of a Seinfeld episode, one where George interviews for a job and the Boss says “Barring any unforseen complications, you could start next week” (OK thats not an exact quote) – of course George then feels the Big Bosses jacket with his fingers and she freaks out and he doesnt get the job. But Im sure that wont happen to you.

  2. I must admit, I never saw that episode.

    Return books. I didn’t know you were allowed to do that. What do you do, go into the book store and say “So, I just can’t get into this book..I’d like a refund”? Aside from the concept of those little gift receipts that allow for something like that, I don’t see how one could return a book.

    Whatever, I loved it, can’t wait for the second one. Right now I’m reading WildWood Dancing. It’s cute, it’s something I might read to my niece. Of course, the concept of “night people” who suck the blood out of innocent girls might be a bit much for a seven year old…maybe I’ll wait until she’s a bit older. *giggle*

  3. davidbcoe said

    Brian, thanks…I think… 🙂

    In this case, Michele, “Returns” means not individuals returning books to stores, but stores that have ordered too many copies of a specific title returning unsold books to the warehouse. And it’s quite common. Now returned hardcovers can be resold, so the returns don’t doom me to worse sales numbers, but there are always returns and they will eat into that sell-through just a bit.

Leave a Reply

