Coffee House Ramblings

March 5, 2008

 Okay, I’m sitting in a coffee house here in downtown Sewanee (such as it is)  because my car is in the shop for an oil change.  And I’m having my usual, which is a strawberry banana smoothie with yogurt and apple juice. (They call it “The Town Tramp” for reasons I’ve yet to figure out.)  Anyway, what comes on the stereo mix here in the shop?  Nickel Creek’s “Smoothie Song.”  Not sure what that means, but there you go.

Happy birthday to my brother, Jim.  If you’d like to join me in wishing him a happy birthday, check out his web site.  He’s an amazing artist and his work is well worth a look.

Should also mention that I’ve done a separate post today at http://magicalwords.net.

Many of you know that I used to have a dog — Buddy, the Wonder Dog.  He died a year and a half ago, while we were in Australia, and I miss him every day.  Some friends here in town are dog owners now, and they went out of town for the week, leaving their adorable dog, Violet, with us.  Turns out, while I miss Buddy and like Violet very much, I don’t miss being a pet owner.  I’ve gotten used to not having to walk a dog on cold winter nights.  I’ve gotten used to not  having a dog dig up the yard or bark at passing deer.  I’ve gotten used to not seeing or smelling dog food.  Good thing it’s only for the week.

I feel that I should have something intelligent to say about last nights primary results, but I really don’t.  I’m kind of conflicted about the whole thing.  I wrote yesterday that I hoped Obama would win Ohio and Texas and put this thing to rest.  I still believe that Obama is the one candidate who might truly fundamental reform our political system.  But I also think that the final few days of this weeks campaign revealed weaknesses in Obama as a candidate that could be a problem in November.  Now, I’m not saying that these are fatal weaknesses.  But I’d like to see him recover from them; I’d like to see him handle this situation with the economic advisor who spoke to the Canadian trade reps; I’d like to hear him address more fully his real estate transaction with Tony Rezko.  I don’t think Obama is guilty of anything.  I don’t think he meant to make misleading statements about the NAFTA thing.  I do think he handled these matters poorly in the days leading up to yesterday’s primaries, and I think that these blunders, more than anything else, led to his defeats yesterday.  People in Texas who made up their minds in the last three days before the primary broke for Clinton 2 to 1.  She didn’t win with advertising; he lost with indecision and a sudden, uncharacteristic lack of resolve.  People in his campaign are complaining about Clinton “going negative.”  Ha!  Wait until he goes up against the Republican smear machine.  I want to know that he can stand up to what the wingnuts on the right are going to throw at him, and I want to know that this week’s mistakes were hiccups, rather than harbingers of more serious troubles to come.  I don’t regret voting for him on Super Tuesday, but at this point I need some reassurance that he really is the right candidate to go up against McCain.

Gotta say, I love this wireless thing.

Smoothie’s gone.  Think I need a muffin.  Later.

7 Responses to “Coffee House Ramblings”

  1. Suzane in VT said

    Cheer up, at least he won here in Vermont. We know a winner when we see them. 🙂

  2. Mark Wise said

    I saw Obama on the Today Show this morning and he looked more lost than a Hippy in a Board of Director’s meeting. I think he was expecting softball questions, but the interviewer really asked some hard, even embarrassing questions of him, and I think it caught him totally off gaurd.

    That is what worries me about him. He has a tendacy to choke under pressure.

    That is one thing that I am impressed with Clinton over, she can take the pressure a lot better and come out looking better than Obama.

  3. davidbcoe said

    It may be a legitimate concern, Mark. We’ll have to wait and see. For all the criticisms we here of our election system, it does put the candidates through their paces. Yes, it’s politics as opposed to world crises, but it’s high pressure, it’s spontaneous, there’s no place to hide. He or she who survives this process can’t help but be toughened.

  4. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the comment, Suzane. I’m not all that funked out, actually, though I appreciate the effort to cheer me up. I’m not certain at this point what would be best for the party, and really that’s my greatest concern. I want to WIN! And I’d be happy with either Clinton or Obama as President.

  5. Frank said

    Is it the Town Tramp because everybody has tried it out? Or because the apple juice makes it A Little Tart? (hehe..)
    Those Muffins are Fantastic! I haven’t had one for far too long.

    I am in almost exact sympathy about the Obama thing. I am hearing “Rezko”-this and “Rezko”-that, and it sounds pretty slimy, even to me. I need to hear something from the man himself about this.
    So far the best defense I have heard has been “No Direct Evidence Of Wrongdoing”. I think even Karl Rove can say the same thing (at this point) about his many instances of sliminess.

    Politicians are basically guilty until proven innocent, given the track record of elected officials, and he needs to get out there and stop this story while we are still willing to hear his side.
    I like that he called his house/land purchase “boneheaded”. I still trust him, but I need reassurance. If I don’t get it, I may have to make an (extremely) uncomfortable “about face” and start supporting Clinton.

    P.S. I *love* that hard-core conservatives are complaining about having to choose the lesser of THREE evils. If they are this unhappy, something must be right with the world.

  6. IM Russell said

    Just happened upon your blog…how fascinating!
    Great to know another eccentric soul here on the mountain. Will have to check out your books.

    M

  7. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the comments, Frank and M! Nice to know our little community is so well-represented on WP.

Leave a Reply

