My First Exhibit

March 14, 2008

Today, for the first time in my life, I hung an exhibit of my photography in a professional gallery.  Okay, it’s a very small gallery that is also a coffee house.  But it’s a gallery nevertheless.

The hanging of the exhibit was actually tremendously fun.  We pulled out all the photos — eighteen in all, from the year Nancy, the girls, and I spent in Australia and New Zealand — and laid them out so that we could see the space as well as the work.  I felt utterly lost; I had no idea where to begin.  But Katherine, the gallery director, who is very, very good at this, pointed out two walls that she felt were the most visible in the space, and therefore the most important.  So we figured out what to hang on each of them.  This only took care of five of the photos, but it gave us a place to begin.   

It was very much like putting together a jigsaw puzzle.  The first pieces are always the toughest.  But the more you get done, the easier it is to place the next piece.  Once those two walls were set, we were able to decide which pictures looked best adjacent to the first ones we put up, and then which ones to put next to this second set, and so on.  By the time we had finished, the exhibit looked even better than I had hoped it would. 

I have a couple of photos hanging in another local gallery, a space I share with other Sewanee artists.  But this show is entirely mine.  The show opens on Monday, though the opening reception isn’t until March 26th.  Already, though, I feel a little like a professional photographer.  I don’t usually fill in the “Mood” space, but if I did today, my word would be “thrilled.”

Today’s music:  Larry Carlton (Sapphire Blue)

Leave a Reply

