Sales and Word Counts

April 7, 2008

Found out this morning that I sold another short story, my second short fiction sale of the year.  The first sale was a contemporary fantasy called “Cassie’s Story” that I sold to Edmund Schubert at Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show.  Today’s sale was to John O’Neill at Black Gate Magazine.  This story is called “The Lost Children” and it’s basically a ghost story that takes place in an alternate world fantasy setting.  Anyway, this is a good start to the year, given that prior to 2008 I had sold two short stories over the course of my entire career.

I also managed to pick up the pace on the book I began last week.  1,500 words today, which is starting to approach the pace I normally set for myself.  The first chapter is key to a book’s success and I like the way this chapter is taking shape.

All in all, a good day.

Today’s music:  Oscar Peterson Trio with Milt Jackson

Leave a Reply

