Musings From the Road

April 25, 2008

 Well, I’ve made it to the con hotel in Richmond — 590 miles or so.  Glad I left last night and split up the drive.  It would have been a bear to do in one day.  Of course I’ll be doing the return trip all on Sunday, so…..

Car time is great time for thinking, even if it’s thinking about nothing.  Did a lot of station surfing on the radio, listened to a lot of old music I hadn’t heard in years (Simon and Garfunkle!  Loggins and Messina!  Yikes!).

Heard the song “Mrs. Robinson” and got to thinking about great lines in rock ‘n roll lyrics.
  
“Where have you gone, Joe DiMaggio?
Our nation turns its lonely eyes to you;
What’s that you say, Mrs. Robinson?
Joltin’ Joe has left and gone away.”

The evocation of nostalgia, the brilliance of using DiMaggio’s name, which, as it turns out, is so utterly musical.  This would be in my top ten.  So would this line from Steely Dan’s “Reelin’ In the Years”:

“You’ve been telling me you’re a genius since you were seventeen;
In all the time I’ve known you I still don’t know what you mean…”

What others?  Nominations?

6 Responses to “Musings From the Road”

  1. Steph said

    I’ve always thought Sting was a poetic songwriter. These two are some of my favorites, the first from Synchronicity 2:

    “Another industrial ugly morning
    The factory belches filth into the sky.
    He walks unhindered through the picket lines today,
    He doesn’t think to wonder why.”

    And this from Wrapped Around Your Finger:

    “Devil and the deep blue sea behind me
    Vanish in the air you’ll never find me
    I will turn your face to alabaster
    When you will find your servant is your master”

  2. Those ones seem depressing 😦

    So, Wilson Phillips isn’t that old for music in the grand scheme of things… Since I was only 5 when the album came out, it seems old enough to me.

    The following is a verse that I find particularly helpful when life gets me down.

    “You could sustain
    Or are you comfortable with the pain?
    You’ve got no one to blame for your unhappiness
    You got yourself into your own mess
    Lettin’ your worries pass you by
    Don’t you think it’s worth your time
    To change your mind?”

    Hey…its even poetic…at least according to High School. 😛

  3. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the Stinq quotes, Steph. I’m a big fan of his, too. He has a song called “Shadows in the Rain,” that begins “Woke up in my clothes again this morning.” He wrote in the album liner notes that he thought he’d like that to be on his grave stone. I always thought that was hilarious.

    And thanks, Michele. Don’t know that one, but it’s a good lyric. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Frank said

    Hey there! I’m a little late to the conversation on this one, but for great lyrics, I absolutely have to recommend Crash Test Dummies’ first 2 albums, “The Ghosts That Haunt Me”, and “God Shuffled His Feet”.
    Their lyrics are contemplative, intelligent, and often darkly funny. They make reference to T.S. Eliot and Sartre, as well as Superman and his foe, Solomon Grundy.
    A sample is hard to choose, but here are the opening lines to “I Think I’ll Disappear Now” –
    Running into you like this, Without warning / Is like catching a whiff / Of tequila in the morning. / It’s hard, but I can keep my food down. / It’s quite an aftertaste that you’ve left / Now that you’re not around.

  5. Alan said

    Pretty much anything that Roger Waters wrote for Pink Floyd gets into my top lyrics list. The entire album of The Wall is lyrical genius.

  6. davidbcoe said

    Cool lyrics, Frank. Thanks. Haven’t listened to Crash Test Dummies much, but I’ve had many people tell me that I should.

    And Alan, I agree. Love Pink Floyd. “The Wall” is brilliant. “Wish You Were Here” is one of my favorite albums of all time.

Leave a Reply

