Hacked Again!

May 8, 2008

So, for the second time in about three months one of our credit cards has been hacked.  Weird things about it:  First, it was the new credit card that we got after the last one was hacked.  (We have several cards, but this is the only one that seems to be giving us trouble.)  Second, the false charges put on the credit card last time were for about $2,000.00 each and were charged at bike shops in Europe.  This time the false charge was for about $1,500.00 and was charged (wait for it….) at a bike shop in Europe.  And both times, we had put in a legitimate charge at one online seller in particular about three weeks before the problem arose.  I can’t prove this last connection so I’m not going to give the name of the online merchant, but be careful who you order from, and if you can, place your orders by phone rather than over the net.

Tune in tomorrow for a new political cartoon from my friend Bryan Prindiville and me. 

2 Responses to “Hacked Again!”

  1. Jim said

    Who was the merchant? I’d like to run some tests to see if their site has been compromised.

  2. davidbcoe said

    Sorry. Not saying. I’m just guessing, really, and I’m not going to trash their reputation based on my guess. Besides, it’s a small specialty site that my wife shops at for one of her hobbies. The chances of any of my readers winding up at that site are slim. Just remember that it’s safer to order by phone.

Leave a Reply

