Picking Up the Pace

June 12, 2008

Spent a bit of time looking at a calendar the other day and realized that I’m going to be away for a big chunk of time at the end of July and beginning of August.  It’ll be fun:  visiting friends in New Mexico, camping in Canyonlands National Park in Utah, visiting Nancy’s folks in Idaho, and then going to WorldCon in Denver.  But that’ll have me away from home from July 21 to August 10 or so.  That’s a long time, and it threatens to put me behind schedule on the work in progress.

So for the past two days I’ve kicked it up a notch.  I’ve written 2,000 words instead of 1,500; eight pages instead of six.  I intend to keep this up for the rest of June and the first three weeks of July.   That will have me back on track to finish the book in September, which is my current goal.  I’m not sure I could have done this a few years ago.  I was a slower writer then and was much more prone to ups and downs; on some days I’d get six pages, but on other days I’d only get three.  I’ve gotten more consistent, which is kind of cool.

Anyway, I’m more tired than I usually am at the end of a writing day, and I wonder if I’m going to burn myself out this way.  I’ll guess we’ll see.

Today’s music:  Jim Hall (Concierto)

3 Responses to “Picking Up the Pace”

  1. Where in Idaho? (She asks from Montana).

    Di

  2. davidbcoe said

    A small town called Kuna, just outside of Boise. Nancy’s parents still farm.

  3. Cool. We’re about five hours away from there.

    Di

Leave a Reply

