New Friends

June 17, 2008

It’s late (at least it is for me; I’m getting old…) and I had hoped to post much earlier today.  We had friends over for dinner tonight.  New friends, actually.  They’ve just moved here and they’ve coming to our town so that he can take over as headmaster at the school my older daughter attends.  We wanted to welcome them and give them a break from unpacking, so we ordered some pizzas and asked them over.

You never really know what to expect in a situation like this.  They seem like great people.  They have two kids, 13 and 9, just like we do, but we weren’t certain how much more we’d have in common with them.  

They pulled into the driveway, she got out of their car and glanced at my “Obama ’08” bumper stickers.  And I thought, “Uh oh….”  She looked at me, smiled, and said, “Love the bumper stickers.  I saw him speak four years ago and I’ve been a huge supporter ever since.”  We offered them some of my wife’s home-brewed beer (which is very, very, very good).  Turns out he brews, too.  I told them that I run the organic food buying organization here in town; they’re big into organics and local foods.  He plays golf and loves photography, just like I do.

The whole evening was like that.  So much common ground.  New friends.  I guess you’re never too old to find them, which is a pretty cool thought to carry me off to bed.

4 Responses to “New Friends”

  1. Brian said

    thats almost scary… but amazing too. They dont happen to look exactly like you and your wife? As in clones?

  2. Mark Wise said

    It does have a Total Recall kind of feel to it. Have you been researching any government conspiracies lately, David?

  3. Michele Conti said

    Teehee. You guys are amusing.

    I think it’s cool to find interesting people to hang out with.
    All of my friends are my boyfriend’s friends, my only friend that wasn’t from his group of people is leaving for Malaysia in five days. I’m all sad. Nobody to play with or drink pina colada on the porch and get burned to a crisp by the sun.

    Oh well, I have my cats. haha.

  4. davidbcoe said

    Brian and Mark, you guys are just being paranoid. I mean, I’m sure there’s a perfectly good reason why at one point I found him in our bathroom, pulling hairs from my brush….

    There are always new friends to be found, Michele. I’d be sad, too, but there’s more for you than just the cats (no offense to your cats).

Leave a Reply

