New Toy!

June 25, 2008

Well, I was going to post about something writing related.  Hadn’t decided what yet, but I’m sure it would have been nuanced and amusing and incredibly insightful.  But as you all might remember from a recent post, I’m a material guy, and my new camera just arrived!!!  Canon 40D!  10.2 megapixels, 3 inch LCD monitor, burst rate of 6.5 frames per second, and a integrated sensor cleaning system.  I get all hot and bothered just thinking about it.

So I’ll catch you tomorrow.

Bye.

4 Responses to “New Toy!”

  1. Have fun with that. Good luck.

  2. Brian said

    As an experienced photographer maybe you can answer this question reagrding megapixels: The capacity of digital cameras has been increasing, so the megapixels increased every year. Last year my wife got an 8 mp camera which gives us photos with great resolution and image size even if we want 8×10 photos. Now, is there going to be an endpoint for digital cameras in terms of megapixels? Or will they keep going up to say 100 mp? Is there a reason for the average person to keep upgrading? How big of a picture would you have to print out before you start losing resolution with a 10 mp camera?

    these are the questions that plague me, please help

    thanks
    Brian

  3. davidbcoe said

    That’s a good question, Brian. I’m sure there are people out there who are more knowledgeable than I who can give you a more precise answer. That said, I’ve been shooting with a Canon 10D, their first consumer/Pro crossover model from several years back. It’s a 6.1 megapixel camera. I got very good shots with it and recently had a photo exhibit. I printed pictures at 9×13 and they looked tack sharp. I think I could have gone up to 11×14; maybe higher. With the 10.2 mp 40D I expect I can do 20×24 easily and probably can get into poster size stuff. So for the average consumer looking to make prints up to 8×10, you definitely don’t have to keep upgrading.

    Caveats: Not all megapixels are created equal. I’m not sure that a little point-and-shoot that claims 10 MPs will be as fine as the 40D or a comparable SLR. Also, when using an SLR that allows you to set the ISO, you have to keep the settings low — 100 or 200 ISO, maybe 400. Beyond that your pictures will get grainy.

    Hope that helps a bit.

  4. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the comment, Sorrentolens! Sorry it took me so long to moderate!

Leave a Reply

