“Cassie’s Story” is Out!

July 3, 2008

The new issue (Issue 9) of Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine Show is online, and “Cassie’s Story”, my newest piece of short fiction, is now available for viewing.  IGMS isn’t free, I’m afraid.  You can register on the site for free, but then it costs $2.50 to view each issue.  This issue is a good one — in addition to my story, there’s work from Peter Beagle, Alethea Kontis, Ken Scholes, and several others.

“Cassie’s Story” is a departure for me.  It has a fantastic element that is central to the story, but it’s set in our modern world, and it doesn’t have magic in the traditional sense.  On the other hand, like so much of my work, it deals with social issues, in this case domestic violence.  It’s a dark story, but also hopeful in the end.   

I’m excited to see it “in print.”  This is only the third piece of short fiction I’ve published in my career (the fourth should be out later this year in Black Gate Magazine).  I spend most of my time writing novel-length stuff.  But this was a fun story to write. In any case, I hope you enjoy it.

2 Responses to ““Cassie’s Story” is Out!”

  1. Frank said

    Excellent. I like the fact that…

    ***Spoiler Alert***

    … you never named the “power”. Not once in the whole story did the word “telekinesis” appear. That was a good choice, if you ask me.

  2. davidbcoe said

    Thanks, Frank. Glad you enjoyed it. I felt that keeping the power unnamed and therefore “un-understood,” made for a better story. Again, thanks.

Leave a Reply

