This Week So Far

July 17, 2008

Crazy week so far, which is why I never got around to posting yesterday.  We’re going on an extended trip out West early next week:  New Mexico to see some friends, Canyonlands National Park in Utah to camp, and Idaho to see Nancy’s family.  I’ll then go on to Denver for WorldCon while Nancy and the girls head home.  Three weeks of travel for me.  The day after I get back, my younger daughter starts school again.  So we’re trying to get ready for the trip, trying to get ready for school, trying to get in last minute work so that we can relax while traveling.  Pretty typical pre-vacation stuff.

I’m excited for the time with friends and Nancy’s family, and I’m looking forward to WorldCon.  I’m totally jazzed about Canyonlands.  Can’t wait to look at birds and play with my camera and get some hiking in.  The girls are less psyched.  They don’t particularly like the desert, which I suppose I can understand.  I’m not sure I would have liked the desert when I was their age, that is, if it had ever even occurred to my parents to take us there….

Anyway, that’s where I am right now.  I’ve gotten some writing done this week and should reach 90k words on the WIP tomorrow.  There’s a new podcast up at Stephen Euin Cobb’s “The Future and You” site of a panel I did at LibertyCon with Harry Turtledove and Toni Weisskopf.  Visit the site and give it a listen.

Leave a Reply

