The Problem With Trees

November 22, 2008

Spent the day, pretty much literally, doing yard work:  Cleaning gutters, raking the yard, etc.  I’m way too exhausted to write a long post, and I fear that I’ll be too sore tomorrow to do anything at all.

But I have to say that I think trees have a fundamental design flaw.  I love the whole grow-from-a-seed-and-become-huge thing.  Very dramatic.  And I also love the leaves-turn-pretty-colors-in-the-fall effect.  Lovely.  Really.  But then things start to break down a bit.  Couldn’t the leaves just stay on the branches and then turn green again in the spring?  That would be pretty neat to see.  Or, if they have to fall, couldn’t they self-immolate upon landing?  I mean, talk about a cool, dramatic effect.  That would be awesome!  Yeah, yeah, I know.  This would cause problems if they landed on a house or a favorite family pet.  Hmmmm.   Okay, how about this?  How about if they self-immolate when they land on the ground, but if they land on anything else they simply dissolve, like snowflakes landing on the palm of your hand!  Simple, elegant.  I like it.  Someone should start working on this….

2 Responses to “The Problem With Trees”

  1. Graham said

    What about replacing them with plastic ones? Like they have at Christmas in some parts of the world.

  2. davidbcoe said

    But…but…then they don’t change color in the fall….

Leave a Reply

