Welcome to my Roller Coaster

December 5, 2008

This is a strange thing I do for a living.  Yesterday it was all about the new shiny, the momentum of a new book.  Today I was still deeply immersed in the project, but in an entirely different way.  I went over the plot outline I worked up a few weeks ago intending to expand upon it and fill in some details.  And I realized that several of my plot points made no sense from a logical standpoint.  None.  It was a “What the hell was I thinking?!” moment and for a while there it had me in a bit of a panic.  I think I’ve worked things out now; there are still a few details missing, a few gaps in the progression.  But I’ve dealt with the logical flaws and managed to keep the story alive. 

Still, wow!  What a roller coaster!  One of the comments to yesterday’s post, from my good friend Jana Oliver, compared the early days with a new book to a new romance.  Very apt.  Well, today my book and I had our first fight….

Leave a Reply

