Yesterday’s Post: Emergency BOW Award

December 10, 2008

This is a post I was going to post yesterday, but storms in the ara kept me from getting on line.

Well, I skipped the BOW (Buffoon Of the Week) Award over the weekend, because little that happened last week (aside from that ridiculous lawsuit challenging Barack Obama’s U.S. citizenship being presented to the U.S. Supreme Court) caught my attention.

But today’s arrest of Illinois Governor Rod Blagojevich (a Democrat, I’m deeply ashamed to say) marks the culmination of a scandal of such stunning hubris, of such ridiculous and tragic proportions, that it just couldn’t wait until next weekend.  In case you missed it somehow, Blagojevich basically did everything he could to sell the U.S. Senate seat vacated by Barack Obama to the highest bidder.  No, he didn’t put it on Ebay, but what he did attempt to do was only marginally less stupid…and infinitely more disgusting.  Blago, as he’s called in the press (and the name fits — it sounds like a comic book villain rather than a respected public servant) saw filling this Senate seat not as a constitutional duty (state constitution, you purists) or a public service, but rather as his own private lottery.  He made clear in several taped converstations that he was looking to make as much money as he could, that it was all about improving his financial situation.  And when he had trouble getting others to play along, he threatened to take the Senate seat himself, telling his chief aide that he could make himself rich in the Senate more easily than he could as governor.

This man was so brazen, so arrogant, so thoroughly corrupt, that he’s almost unbelievable.  If I were to write this guy into a book, my editor would tell me to tone it down a bit to make the story more realistic.  He makes Richard Nixon and Richard Daley (the elder, the Chicago Mayor of the sixties and seventies) look like boy scouts.  He’s a disgrace to his office, his state, his party.  So though it isn’t Saturday yet, I’m going out on a limb and giving this week’s BOW Award to Rod Blagojevich, for being rotten to the very core.  Take a BOW there, Blago.  You’ve certainly earned it.  I hope you spend the rest of your miserable life in prison.

3 Responses to “Yesterday’s Post: Emergency BOW Award”

  1. Rachel said

    I am sitting here reading an article about Mr. Blagojevich and I wondered… has David weighed in? The urgency of the BOW award was my answer! What motivates such folks to seek public office? Scratching my head..

  2. Frank said

    I am guessing -and hoping- that we’ve got here a Buffoon of the Month. The last act of idiocy this mind-boggling was Larry Craig’s ‘wide stance’ incident.

  3. davidbcoe said

    Well, Rachel, I think that Blago has demonstrated in no uncertain terms what motivated HIM to seek public office, right? I mean the guy couldn’t have been more transparent.

    And I have to disagree with Frank here. I don’t see Craig’s scandal in the same light at all. That, I thought, was sad. Craig is a guy who is so repressed by his own extreme ideology that he was reduced to looking for sex in an airport bathroom. But this was pure venality. Evil, not sad.

Leave a Reply

