The Lesson of a Good Day

January 14, 2009

Following up on my promise to myself to get out and do more birdwatching this year, I went to a place called Woods Reservoir today.  It’s a large reservoir about twenty miles from here that is maintained jointly by the U.S. Air Force (Arnold Air Force Base abuts part of the reserve) and the Tennessee Wildlife Management Agency.  It has a good sized nesting population of Bald Eagles and is a wintering ground for a wide variety of duck species.  And so it shouldn’t be tto surprising that in addition to seeing an eagle, I also saw Northern Pintail, Lesser Scaup, Common Goldeneye, Bufflehead, Northern Shoveler, and many pairs of Hooded Merganser, which may be the most beautiful duck in North America.  Here, check out a picture.  Of course, Pintails are beautiful, too.

Anyway, it was a great morning.  I came back energized and wrote seven pages this afternoon.  So often I don’t do something for myself because “I can’t take the time out from my work.”  But I almost always find that after taking the time out to look at birds or take pictures or just go for a walk, I work better, faster, more efficiently.  There’s a lesson there, if only I’m smart enough to take it to heart.

2 Responses to “The Lesson of a Good Day”

  1. mythusmage said

    Lesson? You need lesson? D’okay, here’s lesson…

    It’s good to get out of the house every now and then.

  2. davidbcoe said

    Yeah, you’d think I could have figured this out for myself. But sometimes I get so wrapped up in work that I really do need to be hit with a 2×4 before I stop to do things for myself. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

