Inauguration Day!

January 20, 2009

Just adding my voice to the chorus….

What a joyous day!  What a magnificent speech!  Now let’s roll up our sleeves and help him get this country back on track.  Yes, we can.

Oh, and who forgot to give the Chief Justice his Ritalin?  How long do you think it will be before the wingnuts in the blogosphere start saying that Obama isn’t really President because he didn’t recite the oath properly?

9 Responses to “Inauguration Day!”

  1. President Obama’s inaugural address was bound to be good, but I held my breath anyway, just like every other quibbling copyeditor. Then, I caught myself saying more than once, “That’s a good line.”

    I appreciated it when he asserted, “As for our common defense, we reject as false the choice between our safety and our ideals.” Even more lovely to hear was our new President saying, “For we know that our patchwork heritage is a strength, not a weakness.”

    To those of us who are inordinately fond of words, those plainspoken sentences are filled with nuance.

  2. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the comment, Robin. I just had a reader on my other blog tell me that the thought the speech was mediocre and that rhetoric wasn’t Obama’s strong point. Granted this person is NOT an Obama fan, but still, I couldn’t believe it! I listened the same way you did: I was interested not only in the message, but also in the prose. I thought it was brilliant. The line about extending a hand if our enemies will unclench their fists? How nice to have someone in the White House who understands the importance of language.

    I also have to say that I loved Rev. Lowery’s closing, particularly the play on the biblical line — “pounding tanks into tractors.”

  3. Frank said

    Okay, you stole that last sentence of your post directly from my brain.

    I am betting Sean Hannity, newly untethered from the sanity of Alan Colmes, will be the first national figure to bring up the oath/legitimacy question. (Hey, I’m just asking!) When he does, that will mark the official end of the “Honeymoon” period, and the beginning of the “Jump for the jugular at the first sign of weakness” period.

    If you listen carefully on a still, quiet day, you can hear it… Republican partisan warriors across the country quietly repeating to themselves “Please, God, please let him get caught with drugs and hookers. Please, God, please let him get caught with drugs and hookers. Please, God, please let him get caught with drugs and hookers.Please…..”

    See? They have HOPE, too. Just a Hope of a different kind.

  4. davidbcoe said

    I LOVE the new GOP mantra. It really is all they have left….

  5. Heh. I’m reading these comments with amusement because yesterday, the chief justice re-administered the oath of office to Obama before reporters because of a stipulation that might have made the stumbled over version invalid.

    And I don’t know if you watched any of the inaugural balls, but watching the president and the first lady dance together, I think there’s little chance he’s going to be caught with hookers. But even if he were stepping out on Michelle, this guy is thorogh. He’d make sure he didn’t get caught.

    But I’m pretty sure we already know his dirty little secret. He smokes tabaccy, even though he’s supposed to have quit. I’m like, two wars, economic crisis, legacy of corruption in the White House — let the man have his damn cigarette.

    • davidbcoe said

      “I’m like, two wars, economic crisis, legacy of corruption in the White House — let the man have his damn cigarette.”

      All right, that made me laugh out loud. Yeah, it’s kind of nice to see a politician who is so obviously in love with his wife and devoted to his kids.

      The oath screw-up was sort of amusing, and it certainly gave the goons at Fox News something to talk about for a while.

      Thanks for the comment, Jessica.

  6. Nice to see Jay Parini agrees with you about the inaugural address.

  7. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the link, Robin. Parini may agree with me, but check out the comments below his article. Wow….

Leave a Reply

