Without a Net

February 11, 2009

A post today by Faith Hunter over at the group blog she and I maintain with Misty Massey and C. E. Murphy (http://magicalwords.net) discusses the latest hard news coming out of the publishing industry.  Harper-Collins is cutting back imprints and letting people go.  Not good.  Not good at all.  The publishing industry is hurting right now, just like every other industry.  I don’t really want to dwell on it.  Faith’s post in very informative, as is the discussion that follows.

As I mention in my comments there, I am currently walking the wire without a net.  For the first time since the beginning of my career, I’m writing a book that isn’t contracted, that may never be contracted.  It’s a bit scary, to tell the truth.  But as Faith suggests in her reply, there is also something liberating about it.  I have no deadline, which is nice.  (Though I’m actually writing this book faster than I have any other.  I mean I’m flying through it.  Ten pages a day.)  But more than the lack of a deadline, I have the sense with this book that it could take my career in any number of directions.  I could sell it to Tor and continue on the path I’m on, which is not a bad path at all.  Or I could sell it to a new editor with a different publisher and potentially take my career in a whole new direction.  Or I could fail to sell it entirely and find a new job.  Ah, the possibilities….

Anyway, right now I’m focusing on the fun part.  Writing this book is just a hoot.  I love it.  I mean I LOVE this book.  I can’t wait to get to work every morning.  It’s coming out exactly as I had hoped it would.  And that is a fine feeling.  But it will be interesting (to say the least) to see if it sells….

Leave a Reply

