Computer Decision Update

March 3, 2009

So some time back I posted about my desire/intent to get a new computer to replace my ancient desktop. I was trying to decide between another Dell PC, with Vista, and an iMac. Well, I put off that decision for a while, mostly because I was torn between wanting to get away from Windows on the one hand, and not wanting to spend lots and lots of money on the other.

Well, I am SO glad I waited. Two things have happened in the last few days to make up my mind for me. First, on Sunday, my daughters’ brand new (December) Windows Vista machine came up with a malware problem. A pernicious program called Antivirus-1 had gotten on the machine, no doubt while one of my kids trolled around the web visiting game sites or shopping for clothes. It took me hours to get the computer back to normal, and by the time I was done, I was ready to take a sledge hammer to the thing.

And then today Apple announced that it has dropped its prices on the iMac significantly. My mind is now made up. I’ll be buyng my new Mac within the next few days, probably right after I finish my WIP, which is very close to completion.

Thanks again to all who offered advice.

8 Responses to “Computer Decision Update”

  1. Graham W. Body said

    🙂

  2. Brian said

    you wont regret it

  3. Alan said

    I knew you were going to turn to the dark side. 🙂

  4. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the support, Graham and Brian. Alan, I know that you’re not a Mac lover, but I’ve been using Windows for long enough to know that I’m LEAVING the dark side, not going to it…. 😉

  5. Alan said

    Yeah, you’re right. You go, but we’re keeping the cookies you baked.

  6. Jen Bachman said

    I knew I should have forwarded that MacMall email I got to you yesterday! Just call me psychic! But anyway, check them out – they are having a HUGE sale. And yes, you WON’T regret it!!!

  7. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for thinking of me, Jen. I will check them out.

  8. Alex Pendergrass said

    Haha! Another one for the good guys!

Leave a Reply

