A Couple of Photos

March 25, 2009

So, here are a couple of the photos I’ve taken in the past few days.  There’s a small hollow near where we live — it’s actually called Shakerag Hollow, because once upon a time you could go down there in the evening, wave a small white cloth, and thus signal to local moonshiners that you were in the market for their wares.  Alas, this is no longer an option….

Shakerag Hollow is filled with wildflowers every spring, and spring is creeping into the hills of Tennessee even as we speak.  I use a Canon 40D digital SLR camera with a 24-105mm lens mounted with both extension tubes and a Canon 500D close-up filter.  These attachments allow me to get extreme close-ups without sacrificing clarity.  I mount the whole set-up on a Bogen 3001 tripod with a Kirk BH-3 ball head.

The first photo is of a Rue Anemone (Thalictrum thalictroides) growing out of the skeleton of an old downed tree branch.  Everything was covered with dew that morning, so you can see water droplets on the flower and leaves.

This second picture was taken that same morning.  These are simply dew drops on the leaves of Dutchman’s Breeches (Dicentra cucullaria), but somehow the angle of the early morning sun has refracted the light, giving the water that incredible color.  It looks like I spilled juice on these leaves, but I swear, it’s just water.  And in fact, I didn’t realize what I had until I got home and looked at the pictures.  But I love the effect.

3 Responses to “A Couple of Photos”

  1. Graham said

    The second (bottom) photo is so Mandelbrot fractal as to be uncanny!

    Damn nice bit of (photography) work!

    I hate you!

    🙂

  2. davidbcoe said

    Thanks, my friend. Glad you liked them. That second one is among the best photos I’ve ever taken. I guess we all get lucky now and then…

  3. Jen Bachman said

    The dewdrops are breathtakingly beautiful. You are just too lucky, you know.

Leave a Reply

