Contrasts Revisited

June 4, 2009

Did anyone catch Dick Cheney’s speech to the National Press Club the other day, in which he casually admitted that in fact there had never been any connection between Saddam Hussein’s regime in Iraq and the terrorists responsible for the 9/11 attacks?  This despite the fact that for the previous eight years Cheney had stubbornly clung to the fiction that such a connection existed, despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary.  Did anyone catch Andrea Mitchell’s interview with Liz Cheney, Dick’s daughter, in which the younger Cheney denied that her father had contradicted himself and then reasserted the fallacy of the Saddam-terrorist connection?

Did anyone notice that while the Cheney family was running around on television, desperately trying to rehabilitate Dick Cheney’s hopelessly compromised legacy, Barack Obama was in Cairo, giving a thoughtful address, seeking to undo some of the damage done to U.S. relations with Muslim countries and attempting to restart a long-stalled Middle East peace process?  I’ve said this before, but really it never gets old:  How glorious it is to be represented at home and abroad by a President of whom I can be proud, a President who speaks forcefully and eloquently about and for American values, a President who is respected and admired throughout the world, rather than reviled.

Now, if only the Cheneys would crawl back under their rock and leave the rest of us alone.

4 Responses to “Contrasts Revisited”

  1. Jerry said

    David,

    I respect your opinions on politics, but I’d much prefer to hear musings on being a writer. I’m tired of of all the politics. The democrats won, the republicans lost, great, how about we all just move on now.

    I’ve picked up your books at the store many times now and have come so close to trying them out. Unfortunately though, when I decided to look at your site and saw this blog it made me not want to read your books. Maybe that isn’t fair, but like I wrote above, I’m tired of hearing about politics.

    Having said all that, I may still decide to give your books a go.

    Jerry

  2. davidbcoe said

    Hi Jerry,

    Thanks for the comment. I understand your reluctance to read about politics, and on the one hand I feel that I ought to apologize for putting you off with a political post. And I’ll add that as a writer I certainly don’t want to keep people from buying my books. 😉

    That said, this is my blog. I have the right to post my opinions on all sorts of issues here. There are times when I feel like posting about writing. And I do that not only here, but also at the group blog I maintain with several other fantasy writers — http://magicalwords.net. There are other times, though, when I want to post about other things — baseball, parenting, movies, music, and, yes, politics. Something might strike me in the news or in my day to day life and I’ll find that I have something to say and I want an outlet for those opinions. You, of course have every right to disagree with my post, to rail against it in a comment. You also have the right to ignore it — one of the uses of the tag function is that it can show you what the blog is about before you read it. If you visit this site and see a post tagged “social/political issues” you should probably avoid it, because it’s going to be about politics.

    I wouldn’t think of going to your web site or blog and asking you to avoid expressing your views on any matter. I would ask that you show me the same courtesy. Yes, I’m a writer. And people come to my blogs and my website seeking insights on writing. Perfectly understandable. But I’m also a citizen of this country, a citizen of the world. I have other interests, other concerns, and I reserve the right to write about those things pretty much whenever I care to.

    I hope you understand. I hope you will give my books a try. But I can’t allow myself to withhold my opinions in order to avoid putting off potential readers. That would be the worst kind of self-censorship. If you won’t buy my books because I chose to express a political opinion on my personal blog so be it. But I believe that if you think about this, you’ll see how unfair it is.

    All the best,

    David

    • Jerry said

      I appreciate your thoughtful response. Perhaps it was unfair of me to write what I did. I do not have a problem with people expressing themselves and of course you have a right to discuss whatever is on your mind. 😉

      I think I was just put off a little since I wasn’t expecting to find politics here! I work in D.C. (perhaps that is why I’m tired of politics and I took it out on you) and my day job involves a little as well, not directly, but enough. So, when I’m home working on my writing, and I seek out other writers for assistance and their views on writing, and then get hit with more politics… Well, I hope you can understand my reaction now.

      One of our greatest rights in this country is that of expression, and I certainly wouldn’t want to rob anyone of that.

      I apologize, and look forward to reading your novels. It’s always so much fun to “discover” a new (at least new to me) author.

      Jerry

  3. davidbcoe said

    Thanks for the kind reply, Jerry. I understand completely where you’re coming from. We all need a break from certain parts of our lives now and then. I think that what’s happened here is that the part of your life from which you needed a break — politics — is precisely where I went to get a break from the writing part of my life — which is exactly what you wanted to read about! It’s actually kind of funny if you think about it.

    Anyway, I do appreciate your comment and your apology, though really none was necessary. And I do hope you’ll enjoy my books if and when you try them out.

    Let me reiterate that if you’re looking for a site where we’re always talking about writing and books and the publishing business you should come to the Magical Words website I maintain with fellow authors Faith Hunter, Misty Massey, and C. E. Murphy. http://magicalwords.net I think you’ll enjoy it.

    Best,

    D

Leave a Reply

