A Holiday For SF/Fantasy Writers!

June 9, 2009

 For those of you who believe that we don’t have enough holidays on our calendars, authors Sharon Lee and Steve Miller, who together have created the wonderful Liaden Universe (and the excellent books set therein), have declared June 23rd to be Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Day!

Here’s the link to Sharon’s blog explaining a bit about how this declaration of holiday came to pass:  http://rolanni.livejournal.com/439604.html

Personally, I think it’s a great idea and I look forward to celebrating Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Day by writing some fantasy, which, I have to admit, is just what I would be doing on a Tuesday in June anyway.  But hey!  Maybe I’ll get some presents….

9 Responses to “A Holiday For SF/Fantasy Writers!”

  1. Alan said

    Top idea – I’m on board!

  2. […] fi and fantasy writer I’m a big fan of this idea. I picked it up from the blog of my friend, author David B Coe who directed his readers to this LiveJournal post by Sharon […]

  3. Will the banks close? Do you think that postal service will be curtailed? Either way it’s an idea worth the fan fare!

  4. davidbcoe said

    Thanks Alan, for the comment and the link.

  5. davidbcoe said

    And Sharon, I think banks and the PO should definitely close. There should be SF/Fantasy Writers Day sales at all the major stores, and we should have fireworks (Gandalf’s of course). Parades of characters should be held in every town and there should be feasts. If we’re going to do this, let’s do it right!

  6. Alan said

    I’m really into that idea. Street parades celebrating sf/f writers and their work – why hasn’t this been done already!?

  7. […] fi and fantasy writer I’m a big fan of this idea. I picked it up from the blog of my friend, author David B Coe who directed his readers to this LiveJournal post by Sharon […]

Leave a Reply

