“A Feat of Association”

June 10, 2009

 One of my favorite quotes comes from Robert Frost:  “An idea is a feat of association.”

I have had an idea today.  My mind was wandering in all sorts of directions, juggling a hundred different thoughts, and suddenly they came together.  An epiphany.  A moment of clarity.  A feat of association.  Call it what you will.  It is, in the end,  An Idea.  An idea that might allow me to rewrite a book I love but haven’t quite gotten right; an idea that could change the trajectory of my career; an idea that could truly change my life.  

I need more time with it.  I need to explore it further.  I need to walk around it and examine it from all sides.  But my hands are very nearly trembling with excitement.  I don’t have any idea how I’m going to sleep tonight.

6 Responses to ““A Feat of Association””

  1. Brian said

    Those are gooooood moments 😉

  2. Graham said

    How curious,

    I have just spent about two weeks reading Robert Frost’s, “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening” and exploring the idea of iambic tetrameter and AABA, BBCB rhyming patterns.

    And then I read your post.

    How’s that for an omen!

    I wonder what book it is you speak of…? (think)

    Ideas are wonderful.

    We need more of them in this world.

  3. davidbcoe said

    They are good moments, Brian. Thanks.

    Excellent portent, mate. Thanks. And yes, this is a book you’ve read. In the Pillaga, I believe….

  4. Alan said

    I think it was Douglas Adams that described “inspiration particles” – they fly around all over the place and, every once in a while, someone is lucky enough to get one BANG! right between the eyes and inspiration strikes. You, my friend, were struck square in the face by an inspiration particle. 🙂 And it could change your life? Congratulations!

  5. davidbcoe said

    Thanks, Alan. Actually the book in question is the DUM fiction I originally wrote in Oz.

  6. alanbaxter said

    At last! I’m really glad to hear that you’re still pursuing that. Come, join us on the dark side. We have cookies.

Leave a Reply

