First “Robin Hood” Update

December 3, 2009

So, I’m on my way.  I spent Tuesday and Wednesday going over the support material that I received from the studio and mapping out in fairly broad terms the approach I’d take to writing the “Robin Hood” movie novelization.  Today, I began the actual writing.  Now, normally I write 6 to 8 pages a day — about 1500 to 2000 words.  That’s a pretty good pace for me.  But that pace is way too slow for this project, given the early January deadline I’m facing.  Of all the elements of this project, the timeline is the part that was scaring me most.

Well, today I wrote 17 pages.  Yeah, 17.  4,300 words.  If I can maintain that pace, I’ll have no problem with the deadline.  Better still, it was enormously fun.  I got to write in the point of view of Robin Hood and Marion of Loxley, of Friar Tuck and King Richard the Lionheart.  How could that not be fun?

More as it develops.

Leave a Reply

