A Tough Age

January 27, 2011

I don’t know if it’s any harder being a teenager now than it was when I was 15 or 16.  I think in some ways the struggles of adolescence are constant, untouched by changing trends or advances in technology.  In other ways I do think that today’s kids have things harder (and maybe easier, too).

All I know for certain is that being the parent of a teen is infinitely harder than being a teen.

My fifteen year-old is hurting tonight, and beyond telling her that I love her, there really isn’t much I can do about it.  Nothing I faced when I was 15 is tougher than that.

One Response to “A Tough Age”

  1. LJCohen said

    Would it help to say I understand? The terrible powerlessness of being a parent is not something they tell you about in the baby books. I have 2 teen boys who feel life too deeply, who have a great capacity to love and as great a capacity to be hurt. Standing by as witness with your support and love is all you can do.

Leave a Reply

