A New Book

February 22, 2011

So, I finished a manuscript today.  I put the finishing touches on my first book for kids.  It’s geared to middle readers (8 to 12 year-olds) and came in at a shade over 40,000 words.  I started the book a couple of years ago, then put it away for a while because I wasn’t sure I had the voice quite right.  But my daughters loved it and urged me to finish it.  Last summer I took it out again, and worked on it for a while — got to about the halfway point.  But I wasn’t sure where it was going, so I put it away again.  And my daughters continued to bug me about it.

Finally, this month, I took it out, figured out the ending, and wrote the final hundred pages in about three weeks.

I’m going to put it away again, but just for a couple of weeks, just to put some distance between myself the most recent work.  Then I’ll read it through, make a few revisions, and start looking for Beta readers.  Know any kids on the Cumberland Plateau in Tennessee, 3rd-6th graders, who might like to read a fantasy novel?

3 Responses to “A New Book”

  1. Joann said

    It’s amazing what kids will do to inspire you, isn’t it? Mine do that to me all the time.
    I have a daughter who would love to read it. She is in 5th grade. We aren’t in Tenn. though.

    I hope it’s a great success!

  2. Tim Rohr said

    Congratulations, David! That’s so great! Any after-manuscript traditions? A shot from a bottle of 70 year old scotch? A guilt-free run through the drive-through of the best, most-awful-for-you fast food joint? A nice dinner with your wife? Prank calling Glenn Beck at 2 AM?

    So many choices.

    A little too far away here to help with the readers, unless you decide you want the adult, non-local sort.

    Best of luck with it!

  3. davidbcoe said

    Joann, yes, my daughters pushed me on this one, and thanks to them, I got a book out of it.

    Tim, I did break the seal on a bottle of 15 year-old Balvenie last night, but otherwise my celebration will consist of getting to work on my next project — a contemporary urban fantasy for grown-ups.

Leave a Reply

