The Wonderful Thing About Tiggers…

February 25, 2012

I’ve spent the first two months of this year (Really?  Two months already?  Wow.) revising a couple of stories and writing a proposal for a couple of books.  According to my work calendar for the year, next week I begin work on some new short fiction.  And I can’t wait.

When I go for too long without writing something new, I get grumpy, or morose, or both.  I sink into myself in an unhealthy way, and I’m not all that pleasant to be around.  Now, before January, I had gone a long, long time without taking a break from writing, and that can be a bad thing, too.  We writers can be a difficult bunch — things have to be just so.  Write too much without rest and I find myself getting burned out, and by the end of last year I was feeling a bit crispy around the edges.  But if we write too little . . . well, as I said, I’m getting grumpy.

So on Monday I start writing again.  And like bouncing for Tiggers, writing is really what I do best.

Leave a Reply

