Happy Kid, Aching Dad

March 4, 2012

My younger daughter is playing volleyball for her middle school.  I used to play volleyball when I was in high school.  And so I was delighted when she asked me to go to the gym with her and hit a ball around.  I still remember how to bump and set, serve and spike.  I actually hit the ball pretty well.  And we had a great time together.

But now my body is reminding me that I’m thirty years older than I was when I played every day.  And I haven’t been playing every day in the years since.  My arms hurt, my legs hurt, my back and shoulders and neck hurt.

I’m not the first to say this, but I’m feeling it right now:  Aging is not for wimps.

Leave a Reply

