Ephemera and Update

March 28, 2012

So I missed a day of blogging, which might not seem that unusual because I don’t post something here every day. But between this blog and the D.B. Jackson blog I had managed to post at least something each day of the year. Until Sunday. I was doing the single parenting thing (Nancy is on a work trip), and had managed to write a Magical Words post for Monday morning AND do the grocery shopping AND make dinner AND take a little time to watch some basketball AND stay up with my older daughter who needed to talk through some school/college stuff.

But only when I finally got into bed at about 11:30 did it occur to me that I hadn’t written a post for that day. And by then I was too tired to get up and post something. I haven’t missed day since, and I am going to try not to miss any more. But I’m a bit annoyed with myself.

On the other hand, I’m pleased with the work I’m getting done this week. I’m revising a book that I have worked on, on and off, for the better part of seven years. It has been through several incarnations and has a long and tortured market history. But I like the way it’s coming together, and I think this might finally be the year I get it contracted. Hope so, because I think this is the last time I can rework it before I finally give up on it.

Other than that, I’m getting ready for MarCon next weekend in Columbus, Ohio, where I will be a special guest; I’m looking forward to having Nancy back home and (eventually) putting an end to this rather lengthy period in which we’ve been apart more than we’ve been together; and I’m enjoying this odd but lovely spring here in Tennessee.

Hope all is well with all of you.

Leave a Reply

